This feature can be used with the following license packs: Basic, Professional, Enterprise
This is a very long article and has a lot of information, but it's important to read through.
First of all, close the registration.
The fastest way to close down the registration is by setting the time for registration to a past date on the Event information page. That way no one can register to your event.
You can change the standard message for the closed registration by going to Actions from the menu on the left and choosing Notifications. Please be aware that if your event is automated to appear in a calendar or website, you need to undo that in the event from your settings. You can also edit the event name by adding CANCELLED after the event name.
If your event does not have payments, here's an article on what you need to consider when your event is cancelled: Cancelling an event
If your event has payments and you have already received payments from participants, the refunds depend on your cancellation terms. If you've had cancellation terms in your event and don't need to refund anyone, you can read the article above and act according to the instructions.
If you need to refund money, please read through the article Cancelling an event, and come back to continue reading this article :)
Refunds according to the method of payment:
Finnish Online banking payments:
If you are collecting Finnish online bank payments provided by Paytrail, you can ask help for refunds from our Customer Support (help(a)lyyti.com). Refunds are charged according to the current valid price list. Commission costs that the event organiser pays, are not refunded to the organiser.
Partial refunds are not possible in Lyyti.
If you wish (and it's OK to the participant), you can also refund payments directly to participant's account.
You can use your existing Lyyti event to gather the account number information. Here's how we suggest you do it:
- You can hide all the now unnecessary questions from the registration page (we'd leave the contact details visible) by editing a question from the pen icon, then edit the section Who can see this question? -> By registration page language. Remove all the languages from this field, this will hide the question from the participants' view, but not remove the question or any answers. Do this for all the questions you wish to hide.
(Right about here you might wonder why you should use the same event for this? It's so that you can contact the participants easily and they can fill in their information in the same event, also, you can use the personal registration link in the messaging. There's no need to transfer participants to another event, import any participation lists or other. It's not mandatory to hide the questions either, it's just a suggestion to make the registration page look "lighter" for the participant :))
- Add a question to the registration page asking for the account information. We suggest an open text field, it's up to you if you want the IBAN and BIC-codes in two separate questions or one.
- Use Messaging to let your participants know that the event is cancelled, and ask them to use the personal registration link you've added to the email to fill out their account information for a refund. As you've now closed down registration, please visit the Event information-page, and click on Deadlines for editing and cancelling registrations ->Define separate deadlines, and set the deadline for submitting the account information. This will allow the participants who are already registered to edit and add information to the registration page.
- If you wish to set a deadline for the refund, remember to explain this to your participants in the message you send. Also remember to remind those who haven't complied to your request for them to add their account information. You can filter the messages to be sent to those who have not answered the account number question.
In case the money from the registrations hasn't yet been transferred to you, we suggest you wait until it is and then start on the refunds.
All in all, please communicate as much as possible with your participants and let them know how the refunds are faring.
We will not be able to refund the organiser the costs of the commissions, as the payment transaction services that we provide come at a cost to Lyyti as well.
Credit card payments
According to the Finnish consumer law, the organiser can refund participants via an account transfer if the participant accepts this. We recommend this way as it's the cheapest way for the organiser to refund credit card payments.
If you are collecting credit card payments provided by Paytrail or by Stripe, you can ask help for refunds from our Customer Support (help(a)lyyti.com). Commission costs that the event organiser pays, are not refunded to the organiser. Paytrail refunds are charged according to the current valid price list.
The participant has paid the invoice to the organiser's account, so the same steps as in the Finnish online banks can be taken.
Refunding process if participant paid via invoice:
Lyyti is not responsible for refunding or invoice modifications, as invoices are paid directly to the organiser's bank account. In this case, Lyyti's customer (the organiser) and participants should agree on a way to refund the money.
If you have refunded money to the participant, we advise writing it down in Lyyti's Accounts receivable to help your own accounting team with their work.
Search for the invoice in Accounts receivable and click on the binoculars to see & edit the invoice details.
Click Add transaction.
Select from which bank account the refund was made, when and, also, enter a negative sum in Amount to match the refunded sum. Save.
Please note that Lyyti will not refund any commissions.
Instructions for creating a credit note can be found here.
KEEP IN MIND GDPR:
Please keep in mind that account numbers are classified as sensitive information, and that it's a good idea to anonymize this information as soon as the money has been successfully refunded. If you are using the tools for automatic anonymization, please set the question as sensitive, and ask your admin user to set a date for the question's anonymisation.
In cases where you don't have the automatic anonymisation tools, please set a date for yourself for the anonymisation and mass edit the participants on the Participants page, and replace the account number with the letter X. This will replace the information and the replies are thus considered anonymized.