If a participant cannot cancel their registration, please check the following settings in your event:
The participation question is not asked
If the registration page does not include the participation question found in Standard questions, cancellation is not possible, since the participation question defines participant's status.
Solution: Add the participation question to the registration page by clicking Standard questions > Ask for participation: Show. (See below: special features in group registration).
Participants are not allowed to edit their answer to a question
If in any of your event's questions, you have unselected the option The participant can modify the answer after confirmation, and the question is shown "Only for the participant", it is not possible to cancel one's registration. This is because cancelling would remove the participant's answer to this question, ie.e. edit the question, which is not allowed.
Solution: Define that the question is shown To everyone and save.
The event is chargeable or participants have purchased products
If the event is chargeable and a participant has selected chargeable products, they themselves cannot cancel their registration.
Solution: As the organiser, if you accept cancellations, you need to mark the participant as declined.
Cancelling a companion
If a participant wishes attend the event but cancel their companion's participation, the participant would need to edit their registration and select Are you participating with a companion: No.
Both the participant and companion wish to cancel
If both the participant and companion wish to cancel their participation, the participant would need to edit their registration and answer "No" to the actual participation question: I will participate: No. This cancels both registrations. It is not possible to cancel the participant and let the companion attend alone - the companion always depends on the participant's attendance.
Cancelling a group
In group registration, there is no actual participation question but a separate button: Cancel registrations at the top of the registration page. This is visible only to the group's contact person.
In group registration, if the suggestions above didn't solve the situation, please check the following:
Go to the event's Settings > Cancelling the registration is/is not allowed.